Back on the saddle

Standard

After a 7 day hiatus in Russell’s Point, Ohio, we are back on the bikes and on the road again. I was antsy to get back and start, It felt great to ride yesterday and today.
Ohio was busy and nonstop work. My granny had a lot of furniture and collectibles to move. Cheney and my dad kicked butt! It was glorious seeing my parents and smelling my granny’s house one last time. I am grateful Cheney had the chance to experience the place that is so special to me.

My dad and Cheney shared shifts driving the U-Haul. On Cheney’s last leg 12 miles outside of Pittsburg, Kansas,  the most magnificent lightning storm surrounded us from all angles. We were all captivated by the consistency and closeness of the lightning. While we were oohed and awed   the tone changed suddenly. My dad and I noticed the female deer first. She was to the left of the truck on the other side of the road. Right when we drove past her, she started to run parallel to us. My dad and I witnessed this and both hoped she would dart left into the corn field. Unfortunately, the deer made the wrong turn and jumped literally right into the uhaul. Thankfully, Cheney is such a stud because he handle the situation so smoothly. The poor deer looked right at us while we drove over it. I feared for the worst. Being powerless as the passenger, I pictured the truck flipping off the road. But, Cheney remained calm and never swerved or braked to the point of an accident. I then bursted into tears and cried my eyes out as we reached Pittsburg. We found a restaurant and shared our deer story. We quickly learned  the three of us had just been initiated to the way of the country roads, and everyone chimed in sharing their stories.

The next morning we set out to be dropped off in Chanute, KS where Cheney and I mounted our saddles and rode 56 miles to Toronto, KS. Impressively, Kansas displays the most friendly consciences drivers. It’s a breath of fresh air having drivers wave and smile giving me ample space to feel comfortable.  We arrived in Toronto with little time to spare. All the places for food (which was 3) were already closed. Toronto has a population of 321. My high school had 3,000 students enrolled and one of my freshmen college classes held 350 students. Its safe to state this town was small and quiet, no reason to keep the shops open past 5pm. We were running short on time, but got the tip that there was a restaurant 2.5 miles north named “Lizard Lips” that usually stays open till 7 pm. It was 6:10 when we ran into our angel JeanMarie. She crossed the street gracefully to check out the two new bikers in town. She sensed our urgency and knew we were hungry. She called Lizard lips to tell them not to shut the grill down and inform them we were in route. When I ran into the shop frazzled, I asked if they were still serving. Peggy (server) and one of the owners Glen said “why yes, JeanMarie called and said you were coming.” I didn’t know for sure JeanMarie called until that moment and I also never got her name until Glen told me. JeanMarie asked me to call once we got there. I did, and she offered for us to stay at her house. We said yes, and got to know this sweet, gracious, talented woman. This is what makes this bike trip so special and unique. The people we have encountered enrich our experience each day.
Today we went 24 miles to the town of Eureka, KS. Easy day preparing ourselves for a 78 miler tomorrow. I must rest now.
We are all one! I hope life is grand, it’s a beautiful thing to be alive. We are all lucky! Love to all 🙂
Sent from my iPhone

About katiejaneklain

Hey! I'm 28 years old from Los Angeles, California. I lived in Maui, Hawaii for 5 years and that is where I met my sweet, loving, and ever so adventurous husband, Cheney LaRue. Cheney and I got married April 9th 2010 in New Orleans, LA and set out on our first expedition. We have been very fortunate to go on a 13 month honeymoon traveling around the world. We started in Thailand- Singapore -Malaysia- back to Thailand - Lao- Vietnam- Cambodia- Nepal- India- E. Africa, Tanzania- Zanzibar. And now I am in Jackson, MS, where Cheney is from. This place is as much of a culture shock to me, as any other place we visited out of the country. Our next journey starts tomorrow where we are setting out to bike from Mississippi to Los Angeles, California, 3,527.50 miles. Our first stop in Kosesco, MS, 71 miles NE on the Natchez Trace trail heading towards Nashville, TN ;) wish me luck!!!

4 responses »

  1. Glad to hear from you again. I am sure the time with your folks and Cheney in Ohio was bittersweet. How wonderful that Cheney could see Granny’s house. Your deer story would be devastating to anyone. We once had a deer hit our car (In Oregon) with just his rear hoof as he bounded off into the woods. That was enough to shake me up!
    Stay safe and keep writing.
    Love,
    Robin

  2. Oh, we did have a good time and my life is so blessed for having you here. Thank you for inspiring me to go forth with my art and photography.
    I am blessed to know you and grateful that our paths have crossed so beautifully.
    All the best. Love go before you and prepare the way, may your hearts be light and happy each day.
    You are loved.
    Jeanmarie

  3. What a beautiful story. I am so glad Kansas and Jeanmarie embraced you along your journey. It sounds like you inspired her as well. I love these perfect, serendipitous encounters in life. You guys rock!

Leave a comment